Hot crick info

Cricket Australia have made seven changes to their contracted list of 25 players for the 2011-12 season with Patrick Cummins and James Pattinson awarded contracts for the first time.

Five other players - Xavier Doherty, John Hastings, David Hussey, Usman Khawaja and Jason Krejza ended the 2010-11 season as contracted players after they made enough appearances to qualify.

Missing out on contracts are James Hopes, Simon Katich, Andrew McDonald, Clint McKay, Marcus North, Shaun Tait and Adam Voges.

(CA) take into account form in the last 12 months and likelihood of selection in the next 12 months when drawing up their list of players.

"The next 12 months is a very important period in Australian cricket," National Selection Panel chairman Andrew Hilditch said.

"It will undoubtedly be a tough and demanding period as we play three of the world’s top four Test nations during away series against Sri Lanka and South Africa and home series against New Zealand and India.

"However we see it as a very exciting opportunity to commence regaining Australia’s leading position in world cricket.

"The NSP is very pleased with the list which sees a blend of experienced, proven international players together with the best young talent in the country who we are sure is ready for the challenges ahead.

"The NSP has added two exciting young fast bowling talents to the list in James Pattinson and Patrick Cummins. James has tasted international cricket and we see him as a young man of immense talent who is made of the right stuff to succeed at the higher level. Patrick Cummins is an exceptional talent who has impressed with his opportunities to date for New South Wales and it will be very exciting to watch his progress.

"Two spinners are added to the contract list in Xavier Doherty and Jason Krezja. Jason has previously enjoyed success at Test level and recently was a member of our ICC Cricket World Cup squad. Xavier has been doing a very good job for Australia, particularly at one-day level and both are looking forward to the opportunity to play more international cricket.

"John Hastings has been awarded his first contract after playing very well in limited opportunities in our one-day team while David Hussey has again received a contract after impacting in our Twenty20 side and playing well in his one opportunity during the recent quarter-final match against India in the Cricket World Cup.

"The list also includes some of our best young batting talent with Shaun Marsh, Phillip Hughes and Usman Khawaja all receiving contracts. Usman receives his first full contract after debuting in the fifth Ashes Test at the SCG and we see him as a very important player for the future of Australian cricket.

"Several players have unfortunately not been offered contracts this year. The most notable of those is Simon Katich. Simon has been a fantastic player for Australia and a key and successful member of the Test team in recent years. However, amongst other matters, the NSP felt it was the right time now to start blooding our next opening partnership in preparation for the Ashes two years from now. The opening partnership is critical to the success of any team and takes time to develop the necessary experience at international level. We feel it is important this change is made now as we prepare for the challenges ahead.

"While some difficult decisions have been made, the NSP is very excited by the list chosen and in particular the addition of youth from both batting and bowling disciplines. We are confident these young players, in combination with our established senior players, will play a key role in ensuring Australian cricket returns to its rightful position as a leader in world cricket over the coming years."
Australian contracted players 2011-12: Doug Bollinger, Michael Clarke, Patrick Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Callum Ferguson, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, John Hastings, Nathan Hauritz, Ben Hilfenhaus, Phillip Hughes, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Jason Krejza, Brett Lee, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, James Pattinson, Ricky Ponting, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Shane Watson, Cameron White

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

page nevigation